destrehan_logo.gif


http://www.destrehanplantation.org/

Louey Awards 2010 Louisiana Travel Attraction of the Year




2010-2011 Projects


Project Description

Students from several schools attended the fall and spring heritage festivals at the plantation as iReporters. They reported on events
and activities at the festival on twitter.

Follow the iReporters on twitter: http://twitter.com/jppssireporters

Contacts
Name
Contact Information
Ellen Lyon, Technology Integration Specialist
ellen.lyon@jppss.k12.la.us
Donna Sarvis, Teacher
donna.sarvis@jppss.k12.la.us
Lilly Farenholt, Teacher
lilly.farenholt@jppss.k12.la.us
Sheree Caminita, Teacher
sheree.caminita@jppss.k12.la.us


Teresa Crozat, Teacher
teresa.crozat@jppss.k12.la.us
Jennifer Davillier, Teacher
jennifer.davillier@jppss.k12.la.us
Diana Sittig, Teacher
diana.sittig@jppss.k12.la.us
Tammy Schmitt, Teacher
tammy.schmitt@jppss.k12.la.us
Joyce Jones, Teacher
joyce.jones@jppss.k12.la.us
Daphne Miller, Teacher
daphne.miller@jppss.k12.la.us

2010 - 2011 Project Ideas


1. iReporters Students cover events at the plantation using digital photography, video, blogs, and twitter. Fall Heritage Day is October 28, 2010 and geared towards grades K-3. Spring Heritage Day is May 4, 2011 and geared to-wards Grades 4-8.

2. GPS Activity Students use GPS units to find different points and places on the plantation and create Google maps.

3. Newscast Videos Students create news casts about events and place videos on TeacherTube.

Destrehan Plantation Community Partnership Brochure



2009-2010 Projects


Project 1 - Spring Heritage Days and Civil War Encampment


dest5.jpg

dest43.jpg
dest38.jpg
dest16.jpg

More Photos from May 14, 2010: http://www.flickr.com/photos/24310056@N07/sets/72157623955701251/

Spring Heritage Days Information: http://www.destrehanplantation.org/calendar_expanded.asp?ciD=72

JPPSS student blog for this project - Ellender and Pat Taylor students: http://ellenderireporters.blogspot.com/

Follow the students on twitter: http://twitter.com/jppssireporters/

Project Description

Students will attend Spring Heritage Days on May 14, 2010 as iReporters. The students will interview participants, take digital photographs and video, and blog about the event live from the plantation. The students will also Skype with remote classrooms from the event.

Deliverables

The students will create blogs to include student writing about the interviews and experience, video, digital photos. The blog will be linked to the Destrehan Plantation website.

The students will also report on twitter. Follow JPPSS iReporters on http://twitter.com/jppssireporters

Schools

  • Ellender Middle School, Teresa Crozat
  • Pat Taylor Science and Technology Academy, Christina Johnson and Andrew Vincent

Documents





Milestones/Dates

Description
Date
Pat Taylor introduction and technology training
5/3/2010 7:30 AM
Pat Taylor interview skills training
1st week of May - TBD




Spring Heritage Day @ Destrehan
5/14/2010
Finalize videos and blog
5/21/2010


Contacts

Name
Contact Information
Angie Matherne, Destrehan Plantation
destreheritage@aol.com, 985-764-9315
Ellen Lyon, JPPSS Instructional Technology Integration Specialist
ellen.lyon@jppss.k12.la.us
Sarah Rosedahl, JPPSS Technology
srosedahl@yahoo.com, 408-234-0037
Betsy Almerico, Manager, Technology Integration
marybeth.almerico@jppss.k12.la.us