NPS_logo.jpg

National Park Service

Jean Lafitte National Historical Park and Preserve - Chalmette Battlefield


2010 - 2011 Projects


Battle of New Orleans



www.nps.gov/jela/chalmette-battlefield.htm

Students will research and learn about Louisiana history and the Battle of New Orleans. They will participate in a reenactment of the Battle of New Orleans at the
Chalmette Battlefield, where they will interview personalities and report on the event using digital photography, video, blogging, and Skype.

School: Ellender Middle School

Follow the JPPSS iReporters on Twitter: http://twitter.com/jppssireporters

b8.jpg
b26.jpg
b17.jpg

More photos: http://s1039.photobucket.com/albums/a474/jppsstech/Battle%20of%20New%20Orleans%202011/





2009 - 2010 Projects


Battle of New Orleans


www.nps.gov/jela/chalmette-battlefield.htm ||
Description

Students will research and learn about Louisiana history and the Battle of New Orleans. They will participate in a reenactment of the Battle of New Orleans at the
Chalmette Battlefield, where they will interview personalities and report on the event using digital photography, video, blogging, and Skype.

Blog: http://jppssireporters.blogspot.com/

Products:
  • Blog, including written reports based on research and interviews, digital photography, and video
  • Skype collaboration between Haynes, Pat Taylor, and possible a school in Michigan
Schools/Teams

Haynes Academy
Pat Taylor Science and Technology Academy

Grade Level
Contacts

Penny Prado - Haynes Academy, penny.prado@jppss.k12.la.us
Colleen Winkler - Pat Taylor, colleen.winkler@jppss.k12.la.us
Andrew Johnson - Pat Taylor - andrew.johnson@jppss.k12.la.us
Ellen Lyon - Technology Integration Specialist, JPPSS, ellen.lyon@jppss.k12.la.us
Betsy Almerico - Manager, Technology Integration Specialists, JPPSS, marybeth.almerico@jppss.k12.la.us
Sarah Rosedahl - Technology, JPPSS, srosedahl@yahoo.com
Patricia Corral - NPS, patricia_corral@nps.gov
Matt Boswell - NPS, matt_boswell@nps.gov
GLEs
Technology Equipment
Milestones

  • Dec 3 11:15 - 2:10 - Ellen tech training at Haynes
  • Dec 7 8:55-10:00 and 1:10-2:40 - Ellen tech training at Pat Taylor
  • Dec 8 Chalmette - air card testing, check layout
  • Dec 9 8:00AM next team meeting at Pat Taylor + conf call
  • Dec 16th - interview skills training at Riverdale HS - video conference
  • TBD - test Skype call with remote class
  • Jan 8th - field trip to Chalmette Battlefield
Additional Documents


Registration
http://www.nps.gov/jela/battle-of-new-orleans-anniversary.htm

January 8th Events
8:00AM bus leaves (Haynes?)
9:00AM

Color guard, flag raising, gun salute, band
9:30AM

First musket and cannon firing (every half hour)
10:00AM - 11:00AM

Wreath laying ceremony to honor soldiers who died during the battle
Every half hour

Musket and cannon firing
3:15 PM

Retreat
4:14PM

Bus returns

Living History Reenactors

American:
  • Andrew Jackson
  • 7th Infantry soldiers
  • New Orleans battalion
  • Free men of color
  • Baratarians
  • Tennessee Militia
  • USS Carolina sailors
  • civilians

British:
  • Generals Packingham and Gibbs
  • Fourth Kinds Afoot
  • 93rd Southerland Highlanders
  • 95th Rifle Regiment
  • British surgeon